Mod Showroom

 Reply to this postStart new topic

[ASI] GInput

Deji
post Oct 2 2012, 06:12 AM
Post #1


Coding like a Rockstar!

Group Icon

Posts: 1,468
From: ???
Joined: 28-May 09



GInput


Download

Due to San Andreas being ported to PC from the PS2 version, the control system has been changed a lot. Unfortunately, the replacement isn't too great for PC's using Joypads and people used to the PS2 or Xbox versions will never get the same feel from this system as the exact console controls can't be replicated.

GTA IV doesn't have this problem, however. XInput, an API for Xbox360 controllers published by Microsoft as part of DirectX, is used to handle joypad input, and it works pretty well. The fact it only worked for Xbox360 pads influenced a user-made patch (provided with GInput) which allows configuration of XInput to work with pretty much any joypad on the market, so I decided it would be a good idea to use this to enhance the control system in GTASA.



So GInput knocks out GTASA's current DirectInput system in favour of XInput. It also replaces keyboard key names with PS2 or Xbox button textures, making the controls feel just like the console versions. As it directly processes the controls based on what joypad buttons are pressed, skipping the menu configuration, all the controls work the same as the console versions. Wheras before this was not possible as SA would stop the same buttons having multiple uses.

Download


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LINK/2012
post Oct 2 2012, 03:54 PM
Post #2


I will kill you

Posts: 126
Joined: 13-May 11



I can't play with a joypad (Really, I can't, I don't even know how to fire the weapon tongue.gif, I'm really bad using joypads, joypads aren't made for me), but for sure this is very helpful for "joypadders".

Good work as usual thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by LINK2012: Oct 2 2012, 03:55 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Huckleberry Pie
post Oct 7 2012, 07:39 AM
Post #3


Ameteur Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 5-August 09



For some reason I end up with an exception upon starting the game. I get a msvcrt.dll error just after the R* logo video.

EDIT: Ahh, nvm, it was due to the controller emulator DLL. The ASI now worked on my end by replacing the x360 controller emu with a later version. Only problem so far was that tapping X doesn't seem to work, and some of the controller prompts needed fixing as the text would sometimes go past the black boxes.

This post has been edited by Huckleberry Pie: Oct 7 2012, 12:27 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deji
post Oct 7 2012, 01:13 PM
Post #4


Coding like a Rockstar!

Group Icon

Posts: 1,468
From: ???
Joined: 28-May 09



Tapping X doesn't work? You mean for super sprint? It always worked for me..

Could you send a screenshot of text overflowing the box? I already fixed it mostly but I guess I need to adjust something slightly.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Michael.Knight1
post Oct 7 2012, 02:29 PM
Post #5


Member

Posts: 130
From: Germany
Joined: 24-March 12



It's Cool Idea, Thanks xD

PS : Deji please can you make the pressure sensitive buttons Work on GTA San Andreas Like in PS2 and also add the keys in Sanny Builder mellow.gif

This post has been edited by Michael.Knight1: Oct 7 2012, 02:51 PM


--------------------
Michael Knight A shadowy flight into the dangerous world of a man who does not exist.
Michael Knight, a young loner on a crusade to champion the cause of the innocent, the helpless, the powerless, in a world of criminals who operate above the law.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deji
post Oct 7 2012, 03:36 PM
Post #6


Coding like a Rockstar!

Group Icon

Posts: 1,468
From: ???
Joined: 28-May 09



Pressure sensitive buttons aren't supported by the XInput patch.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Michael.Knight1
post Oct 7 2012, 03:44 PM
Post #7


Member

Posts: 130
From: Germany
Joined: 24-March 12



QUOTE (Deji @ Oct 7 2012, 03:36 PM) *
Pressure sensitive buttons aren't supported by the XInput patch.

ah , ok


--------------------
Michael Knight A shadowy flight into the dangerous world of a man who does not exist.
Michael Knight, a young loner on a crusade to champion the cause of the innocent, the helpless, the powerless, in a world of criminals who operate above the law.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ThirteenAG
post Oct 8 2012, 03:03 AM
Post #8


Ameteur Member

Posts: 54
Joined: 8-January 11



Unfortunately i'm having a crash on startup. Looks like conflict with another asi, but don't know which one though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Huckleberry Pie
post Oct 9 2012, 01:19 AM
Post #9


Ameteur Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 5-August 09



QUOTE (ThirteenAG @ Oct 8 2012, 11:03 AM) *
Unfortunately i'm having a crash on startup. Looks like conflict with another asi, but don't know which one though.


Try replacing the xinput DLL with a newer version from the X360CE website. It worked in my case.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Huckleberry Pie
post Oct 9 2012, 01:27 AM
Post #10


Ameteur Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 5-August 09



QUOTE (Deji @ Oct 7 2012, 09:13 PM) *
Tapping X doesn't work? You mean for super sprint? It always worked for me..

Could you send a screenshot of text overflowing the box? I already fixed it mostly but I guess I need to adjust something slightly.


Here you go:



As for the X button not working properly, it may have something to do with the controller wrapper, but yes for some reason it doesn't work, and as a consequence I couldn't get CJ to pedal faster.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ThirteenAG
post Oct 9 2012, 12:35 PM
Post #11


Ameteur Member

Posts: 54
Joined: 8-January 11



QUOTE (Huckleberry Pie @ Oct 9 2012, 01:19 AM) *
Try replacing the xinput DLL with a newer version from the X360CE website. It worked in my case.

Thanks, it's works now.

Is there any way to remap buttons to make control more like GTA IV?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deji
post Oct 9 2012, 02:50 PM
Post #12


Coding like a Rockstar!

Group Icon

Posts: 1,468
From: ???
Joined: 28-May 09



Not in-game and visually. I might make something for that in future, but it'd require a LOT of hooking, especially since GXT entries would need altering pre-display somehow.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ziero1986
post Feb 4 2013, 07:10 AM
Post #13


The New Guy!

Posts: 2
From: Cuba, MO
Joined: 4-February 13



This seems really interesting, as I have been looking for a way to properly use my usb 360 controller. I am just a little confused. On the download page, it says SA VC and GTA III, but I can't seem to get it to work with 3 or VC and these are completely fresh installs from disc. Assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silent
post Feb 4 2013, 01:04 PM
Post #14


The master of cut retort

Group Icon

Posts: 239
From: Warsaw, PL
Joined: 21-July 10



QUOTE (Ziero1986 @ Feb 4 2013, 08:10 AM) *
This seems really interesting, as I have been looking for a way to properly use my usb 360 controller. I am just a little confused. On the download page, it says SA VC and GTA III, but I can't seem to get it to work with 3 or VC and these are completely fresh installs from disc. Assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.


This mod supports only San Andreas.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deji
post Feb 4 2013, 07:59 PM
Post #15


Coding like a Rockstar!

Group Icon

Posts: 1,468
From: ???
Joined: 28-May 09



QUOTE (Ziero1986 @ Feb 4 2013, 07:10 AM) *
This seems really interesting, as I have been looking for a way to properly use my usb 360 controller. I am just a little confused. On the download page, it says SA VC and GTA III, but I can't seem to get it to work with 3 or VC and these are completely fresh installs from disc. Assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.


My bad. Dunno how it ended up like that. Fixed.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ziero1986
post Feb 5 2013, 12:09 AM
Post #16


The New Guy!

Posts: 2
From: Cuba, MO
Joined: 4-February 13



So now that it's fixed, I understand now, only SA. It there a way to develop something like this for GTA 3/VC?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silent
post Feb 5 2013, 11:30 AM
Post #17


The master of cut retort

Group Icon

Posts: 239
From: Warsaw, PL
Joined: 21-July 10



QUOTE (Ziero1986 @ Feb 5 2013, 01:09 AM) *
So now that it's fixed, I understand now, only SA. It there a way to develop something like this for GTA 3/VC?


I was actually asked to do that and (I think) I have Deji's permission to convert the code into VC, so you may expect something soon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deji
post Feb 17 2013, 06:46 AM
Post #18


Coding like a Rockstar!

Group Icon

Posts: 1,468
From: ???
Joined: 28-May 09



Released an update to GInput which fixes some wrong button texture issues. There's 56 input events, I got a few wrong tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cleft
post Mar 8 2013, 03:24 PM
Post #19


The New Guy!

Posts: 2
Joined: 8-March 13



This is a fantastic mod, even better than SAAC in my opinion as you can use both the 'look left' and 'look right' buttons together while driving to look behind!

However, one minor issue. I'm using the Xbox 360 controller, and the LB/RB (left/right bumper) icons are confused with the LT/RT (left/right trigger) icons. So, for example, I'm told to press RB to handbrake, when I actually need to press RT. It's a minor issue, but an annoyance all the same - and in fact, I'd rather have to press the RB to handbrake as it's the default for GTA4.

So, what I'm basically asking, is could you switch the mappings for the bumpers to the triggers, instead of switching out the icons (which actually would be correct then)? Or, if not, could you switch the icons over?

Hope this makes sense. Thanks for a great mod all the same!

This post has been edited by Cleft: Mar 8 2013, 03:24 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deji
post Mar 8 2013, 06:44 PM
Post #20


Coding like a Rockstar!

Group Icon

Posts: 1,468
From: ???
Joined: 28-May 09



I'm planning on allowing configuration of button mapping for the next release wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Reply to this postStart new topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: